Lost in Translation

Yesterday evening, after unplanned hike to Monchsberg, I was hungry and I wanted to treat myself to eat something nice & warm.

As I walked back through the city center, I passed by a restaurant called Di Renzi – ristorante – Prosciutteria. So it sold pork dishes cooked in Italian way.

I walked passed it hoping to find something better but I finally walked back because the other options were just bars and cafes.

The restaurant was small. Inside there was a bar cum kitchen. Several two person tables and a tiny dining room further inside. There were about 4 small tables in front of the restaurant – on the side of the road where people walked by. I chose to sit on one of the small table inside, across the bar cum kitchen.

image

There were only 2 men who worked in that tiny restaurant. One person was the cook. The other was the waiter plus bartender plus cashier. He worked efficiently, going from one table to another for taking orders, getting the payment, ordering the food to the cook and cleaning up as well. They have a dishwasher as well inside the tiny bar cum kitchen.

image

There were menu books but the waiter showed me a small blackboard with some menus under the title Oggi – which means Today in Italian.

The first menu on the board was Tonno alla Griglia. I thought it meant chicken. So I ordered it and a cup of Earl Grey.

After finished ordering, I realized, why didn’t I order one of the pork menu? After all I came to the restaurant hoping to eat a delicious pork dish. Kekeke.

Anyway, when the food came, this was what I got:

image

I thought, wow, it’s a big chunck of meat. It’s tender and when I ate it, I reallized what it was and couldn’t help laughing at myself.

So…tonno alla griglia means Grilled Tuna. Wkwkwkw….and chicken in Italian is Pollo.

Well…sometimes I got lost in translation too. Kekekeke.

I came looking for pork and in the end I ate tuna which at first I thought was chicken. Btw, it was yummy. A little to salty but the tuna was fresh and tender. The fettucini in tomato sauce was great too. I had a great dinner for €22.8.

Leave a comment